Skip to content
Ebike Legal

E-bikes for heavier riders: load limits compared

Specs, prices and rules checked

Top of this list

Ampd Bros ACE-X

The highest figure, 180 kg, but Ampd doesn't say whether it includes the bike, and the ACE-X isn't legal in WA or the NT.

Bikes legal today in at least one state with a published load limit of 120 kg or more; highest limit for rider and cargo first.

Pick another from the list below if its battery, weight or price doesn’t suit you. The model matcher ranks them for your own commute.

Its verdict in every state

A load limit is only useful if you know what it includes. Some makers count rider and cargo; some count rider only and rate the racks separately; some include the bike's own weight; some don't say. This list takes every bike we've checked whose maker publishes a limit of at least 120 kg and that's legal today somewhere, and shows what the figure covers.

E-bikes for heavier riders: load limits compared

BikeLimit for rider (and load)What it coversLegal inPriceLink
Ampd Bros ACE-X 180 kg Not stated 4 of 8 (+2 for now) $2,490Ampd Bros (opens in a new tab)
Tern GSD S10 173 kg 210 kg incl. bike 4 of 8 (+2 for now) $10,995Pushys (opens in a new tab)
Giant Explore E+ 3 150 kg Not stated All 8 $5,499Giant Australia (opens in a new tab)
Reid Quest 2 Mid-Drive 137 kg Not stated All 8 $2,499.99Reid Cycles (opens in a new tab)
Aventon Pace.4 136 kg Not stated All 8 $2,199BikesOnline (opens in a new tab)
Aventon Level.3 136 kg Not stated All 8 $2,899BikesOnline (opens in a new tab)
VelectriX SUV 125 kg Rider; racks extra All 8 $2,599VelectriX (opens in a new tab)
Fatfish Biggie (EN 15194) 125 kg Rider and cargo All 8 $2,799Ride Electric (opens in a new tab)
We compare only the 8 e-bikes listed here, not the whole market. Other products may be available that suit you better. Sorted by bikes legal today in at least one state with a published load limit of 120 kg or more; highest limit for rider and cargo first.

Why each one is here

  1. 1. Ampd Bros ACE-X

    The highest figure, 180 kg, but Ampd doesn't say whether it includes the bike, and the ACE-X isn't legal in WA or the NT. (Ampd Bros, checked )

  2. 2. Tern GSD S10

    210 kg gross, which leaves about 173 kg after the bike: the most usable capacity we found. (Pushys, checked )

  3. 3. Giant Explore E+ 3

    150 kg combined limit; Giant doesn't spell out whether the bike is counted. (Giant Australia, checked )

  4. 4. Reid Quest 2 Mid-Drive

    137 kg total payload, on an EN 15194 mid-drive legal everywhere. (Reid Cycles, checked )

  5. 5. Aventon Pace.4

    The same 136 kg on a step-through cruiser, in two sizes. (BikesOnline, checked )

  6. 6. Aventon Level.3

    136 kg payload capacity, legal everywhere, one frame size for riders 160–178 cm. (BikesOnline, checked )

  7. 7. VelectriX SUV

    125 kg for the rider alone, plus 55 kg across two racks. (VelectriX, checked )

  8. 8. Fatfish Biggie (EN 15194)

    125 kg carrying capacity including 25 kg of cargo; the page also quotes 160 kg, and we use the lower. (Ride Electric, checked )

Read the basis before the number

Leon's Milano Plus is a good example: its manual's 125 kg limit includes the bike, so a 27 kg bike leaves about 98 kg for you. VelectriX's SUV quotes 125 kg too, but for the rider alone. Same number, very different bikes for a 110 kg rider.

The Milano Plus manual gives 'Max Loading (including bike) 125kg'. (NCM owner's manual, checked )

Weight, hills and battery

A heavier rider uses more battery and asks more of the motor on climbs. The model matcher takes your weight, load and route into account, and ranks bikes whose limits cover you above those that only might.

Lists rank by the rule above, never by commission. Match a bike to your own commute or read how we work.