Skip to content
Ebike Legal

E-bike laws by state

Australian e-bike rules, state by state

Every rule checked

All eight agree on the core: a motor rated at 250 W that helps only while you pedal and stops at 25 km/h. Where they part is certification, throttles on the old 200 W class, who may ride, and dates. NSW still allows 500 W; Queensland now wants an EN 15194 label and a licence.

E-bike rules in every Australian state and territory

StateMost power allowed250 W bike must be EN 15194200 W classRider age or licenceNext dated change
New South Wales 500 W (until 2029, planned) Yes, after transition Yes None stated 1 Mar 2029: e-bikes must meet EN 15194 with a 250 W cap (announced)
Victoria 250 W Not stated Yes None stated None announced
Queensland 250 W Yes, after transition No From 31 August 2026 riders must be 16 or older and hold a driver licence (learner or higher) 2 Nov 2026: The EPAC Assurance Scheme is expected to open, with authorised verifiers able to fit a Legacy EPAC label to eligible older bikes (announced)
Western Australia 250 W Yes Yes Riders must be 16 or older to use an e-bike with the power on None announced
South Australia 250 W Not stated Yes, pedalling only None stated None announced
Tasmania 250 W Not stated Yes None stated None announced
Australian Capital Territory 250 W Not stated Yes, pedalling only None stated None announced
Northern Territory 250 W Yes Yes None stated None announced

Read each state’s page for the government’s own words and the date it was checked.

The national baseline

At the border, the Commonwealth treats a pedal-assist bike as a bicycle if it meets EN 15194: 250 W, and a motor that cuts off at 25 km/h or whenever you stop pedalling above 6 km/h. Anything outside that may need import approval as a road vehicle. (Department of Infrastructure, checked )

Importing rules don’t decide where you may ride, though. That is each state’s road rules, and a bike can clear customs and still be illegal on a Brisbane bike path.

Where the sources disagree

NSW’s e-bike FAQ says any e-bike that can be ridden on a throttle without pedalling is illegal, while the NSW Road Rules still include the national 200 W class, which doesn’t require pedalling. (NSW Government, checked )

Where two government sources conflict, our checker says “check” and names both, rather than picking the friendlier one. Several states also leave the 200 W class’s throttle rules unstated; those get a “check” too.

NSW: from 500 W back to 250 W

The NSW Government plans to require EN 15194 from 1 March 2029, which ends the 500 W class and non-certified bikes after a transition that starts once the Road Rules change. (NSW Government, checked )

NSW rules in full

Queensland: label, licence, deadline

From 1 March 2027 every e-bike ridden in public in Queensland needs a compliance label: EN 15194, or a Legacy EPAC label from an authorised verifier for an eligible older bike. (Queensland Government, checked )

Queensland rules in full

Questions about e-bike laws

What is the legal e-bike power limit in Australia?

250 W continuous rated power for a pedal-assist bike whose motor stops at 25 km/h, in every state and territory. NSW alone also allows up to 500 W for now, and plans to drop back to 250 W by March 2029. Most places also keep an older 200 W class.

Is there one national e-bike law?

No. The Commonwealth decides what can be imported as a bicycle, but each state and territory sets its own road rules. They agree on 250 W and 25 km/h and differ on certification, throttles, rider age and licensing.

Which states require EN 15194 certification?

Queensland (after a transition to 28 February 2027), Western Australia and the Northern Territory make EN 15194 part of their 250 W class, and the NSW Road Rules define their 250 W class by it. Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT set the same limits without naming the standard.

Can I ride my e-bike in another state?

The rules where you ride apply, not where you bought the bike. A 500 W bike that's legal in Sydney is illegal in Brisbane or Melbourne.